Article 12 Definition of State – Constitution of India

  • Post category:Videos
  • Reading time:2 mins read

Article 12 in The Constitution Of India 1949 12. Definition In this Part, unless the context otherwise requires, the State includes the Government and Parliament of India and the Government and the Legislature of each of the States and all local or other authorities within the territory of India or under the control of the Government of India. State, as provided under Article 12 of the Constitution, has four components:

( a ) The Government and Parliament of India- Government means any department or institution of department. Parliament shall consist of the President, the House of People and Council of States

( b ) The Government and Legislature of each State State Legislatures of each State consist of the Governor, Legislative Council and Legislative Assembly or any of them.

( c ) Local Authorities within the territory of India Authority means:

( i ) Power to make rules, bye-laws, regulations, notifications and statutory orders.

( ii ) Power to enforce them. Local Authority means Municipal Boards, Panchayats, Body of Port Commissioners and others legally entitled to or entrusted by the government, municipal or local fund.

( d ) Other Authorities Authorities other than local authorities working ( i ) Within the territory of India or; ( ii ) Outside the territory of India.

For further details and explanation with case law please visit the link below